Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

lindsay robertson

A fixture at GottaYoga’s Lake Norman and Mooresville studios, Lindsay’s classes are energetic, challenging, and empowering. Her fun and honest personality resonates with her students and fellow teachers. So what makes Lindsay tick? Read on to find out more!

What was your first yoga class as a student like? It was about 17 years ago and I was pregnant with my oldest son.  I remember being bored out of my mind, as I missed my double step and Tae Bo classes!  In savasana, as everyone else looked relaxed and at peace, my son would start doing flips in my belly and kicking around, thus making that the longest 5 minutes of the practice.

Describe what it was like to teach your first class.  How many students?  Were you nervous?  How did you prepare? I was an emergency sub for Hot Flowing Yin and taught 12 students.  There was no time to prepare.  Good thing I don’t get nervous!  The one thing I wish I had known was how to use props better.  Some students struggle in certain asanas and props are helpful. What posture do you enjoy the most/least?  Why? I am an upside down kind of girl!  I love headstands of all sorts and all arm balances.  I don’t love Warrior 1, as my hips don’t rotate forward as I would like them to. Oh, I love me some Trikonasana (Triangle Pose) too!  I’m always working on postures.  Last year my focus was on Svarga Dvijasana (Birds of Paradise).  I used to laugh with my students that I look more like a bird stuck to the grill of my car!  This year I am working on Maksikanagasana, or dragonfly arm balance.  I can rarely get twisty enough to stick it.

What advice would you give new students? Don’t worry about anyone but yourself.  What works and feels good in your body, may feel horrible to the guy on the next mat.  Shop at the discount stores!

What is your life like off you mat? Today is my day off and so far I have practiced yoga, completed 3 loads of laundry, paid bills, worked on training our puppy and cleaned the house.  Stimulating, I know!   I love to be outside with my teenage boys, hubby and 2 Chesapeake Bay Retrievers enjoying Lake Norman, hiking, gardening or having friends over.  Yoga has taught me to slow down before reacting as a mother, and to really focus on the smallest moments of beauty in life.

Do you follow a specific diet or eating regimen? Nope!  I eat everything in moderation, but I prefer not to go without my glass of wine and dark chocolate…unless it is a soccer night…which is 3 nights a week. The one thing I changed in my life 3 years ago, was to get off of all medicines and as many chemicals in my house as possible by adopting the doTerra essential oil line into our lives.

What are you currently reading? I have 3 yoga books next to my bed: The Yoga Bible by Christina Brown, Light on Yoga by BKS Iyengar which I find quite boring, and Meditations from the Mat by Rolf Gates.   I don’t read a real book unless I am on vacation, because I can’t put it down until I am finished!  I won’t sleep until I get through the entire thing.  I love my Shape and Men’s Fitness magazines!

What do you enjoy most about teaching? I truly love my students, as they make my day brighter.  In the words of Jim Valvano:  “If you laugh, if you think and if you cry, that’s a heck of a day,” he said. “You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.”

You can catch Lindsay at the Lake Norman studio Tuesdays (9:30am), Thursdays (9:30am), Fridays (noon) and Saturdays (9:45am). Or, at the Mooresville studio Wednesdays (8:15am and 9:30) and Fridays (8:15am and 9:30).  You’ll leave having learned something new and feeling strong!

